Responsive image

Islamic Calendar

Islamic calendar

If you are Muslim, then you must have seen that your grandmother or your mother is calculating days differently. So mainly, they calculate dates and days based on the Islamic calendar. Especially Muslims prefer the Islamic calendar to celebrate their festivals and other things. If we talk about the Islamic calendar, then it is mainly based on the lunar calendar.

The lunar calendar consists of a total of 354 to 355 days per year. In the Islamic calendar, 10 to 11 days are shorter as compared to the western solar calendar. We all know that the lunar month is the moon based on the time, and it is completely considered on the moon to complete its single orbit. Moon only takes 29 days to complete its first single orbit. The moon movements around its orbit to take a single rotation are used in the concept of the Islamic calendar.

The Caliph Umar created the Islamic calendar in 16AH/637 CE. As the event took place and the movement of the Prophet Muhammad from Makkah to Madinah during the time of 622 CE, it was chosen the start the Islamic calendar. Islamic calendar helps Muslims keep the link with the roots, and this also allows to enhance the knowledge and history of their religion.

Key Dates within the 2021 Islamic Calendar (Hijri Calendar):

Ramadan Begins – 13th April 2021

Eid ul Fitr – 13th May 2021

1st Dhul Hijjah – 11th July 2021

Day of Arafah – 19th July 2021

Eid ul Adha – 20th July 2021

Islamic New Year (1st Muharram 1443) – 9th August 2021

10th Muharram – 18th August 2021

Islamic Months:

In the concept of the Islamic Calendar, there are twelve months. As mentioned in the Quran, the number of months is indeed twelve. The four holy months are called Rajab, Dhuk, Qadah, Dhul Hijjah, And Muharram. Rajab is the sacred month. Dhul Hijjah is the month when people perform Pilgrimage (HAJJ).

  1. Muharram (January)
  2. Safar (February)
  3. Rabi Al-Awwal (March)
  4. Rabi Al-Thani (April)
  5. Jamada Al-Awwal (May)
  6. Jamada Al-Thani (June)
  7. Rajab (July)
  8. Shaban (August)
  9. Ramadan (September)
  10. Shawwal (October)
  11. Dhul Qadah (November)
  12. Dhul Hijjah (month of Hajj) (December)